- Home
- Technology
- News
WhatsApp reveals 'View Once' feature where media vanishes after viewing
WhatsApp on Wednesday has started rolling out the ‘View Once’ feature for android users—similar to how Instagram’s expiring media feature works.

The new update will allow a photo or video to disappear once the receiver opens it and leaves the chat and can be viewed only once.
The sent media will disappear from the chat once a user closes the photo/video.
As reported by WaBetaInfo, the feature is currently available for WhatsApp beta testers and is rolling out for Android devices only.
To send a photo/video in View Once mode, WhatsApp user needs to first select the media and tap on the clock-like icon. It will be available near the ‘Add a caption’ bar.
WhatsApp will notify the sender when the recipient opens the media.
Once the media is opened, WhatsApp will display the following message to the recipient: “This Photo is set to view once. For more privacy, this photo will disappear after you close it”.
In its report, WaBetaInfo says that if a user disables read receipts for such messages, the recipient will still see if you have opened the photo or video set to view once.
However, the sender cannot see when the recipient opens the message.
The feature works for videos, photos and GIFs.
For group chats, WhatsApp users can still see when other participants open expiring photos even if they have disabled read receipts. In case the recipient saves the photo/video or takes screenshots/video captures, WhatsApp will not notify the sender because there isn’t screenshot detection.
Blocked contacts in common groups can still open photos and videos sent with the view once feature.
In case a user sends a photo using view once to people that haven’t this feature enabled, the view once feature will still work and they can only view it once.
If the view once button is not visible to users when sharing the media with anyone, then it means that you haven’t received the feature.
If a user sends a photo using the 'View Once' button to anyone who hasn’t enabled this feature, then the feature will still work.

Binance says hackers used fake job interviews and an internal AI tool to pull off the $6.3 billion heist
- a day ago

Week-long polio campaign ends with 24mn children vaccinated
- a day ago

Canva is announcing changes and layoffs affecting 22 percent of its staff
- an hour ago

PML-N candidate Asad Hanif Jutt wins PP-203 Chichawatni by-election
- a day ago

Please stop asking me when the AI bubble will pop
- an hour ago

Train collision in Egypt’s Giza province kills four and injures 88, health ministry says
- a day ago

Qualcomm is betting big on data centers as smartphone sales sink
- 16 hours ago

How Democrats can make good on their new mandate
- 14 hours ago

OpenAI is stepping back from NDAs for data center projects
- an hour ago

Jhelum DC removed over attempt to postpone exam for 'VIP visit'
- a day ago

Here’s what it’s like to use Audio Intelligence on the Apple Watch
- a day ago

Gemini for Home now plugs into AT&T’s smart security system
- 16 hours ago








